The story

March 29, 2009 at 5:42 am Leave a comment

So, about Linux. This is actually not first time I’ve tried it. It was last year that I got my first taste of Linux. I guess one day I just got curious about it, so I read some stuff about Linux, and from what I read it looked so good that I wanted to try it out. After reading up on the different distributions I decided to try Mandriva, since it is aimed at new Linux users. It installed ok and it looked pretty nice, but it ran pretty slow. So then I tried Ubuntu. Everyone said good things about it, but I was faced with some very annoying problems, the biggest of which was constant freezing that forced me to restart my computer. I spent hours trying to figure out what was wrong, but to no avail. No matter what I did it still kept hanging. That didn’t leave a very good impression on me.
So then I forgot about Linux for a while, went back to using my trusty Windows XP. A week or two ago I was about to reinstall XP (my stuff gets cluttered and disorganized and sometimes I’m too lazy to organize it, so I reinstall :P), when I had an idea: why not try Linux again? Before that I had read about a Linux distro called Mint that looked interesting. But since it was based on Ubuntu I was a bit worried that a bunch of stuff would go wrong. Surprisingly, there was no freezing at all, and I’m quite happy with it.
Of course, it’s not perfect. There are some things I just can’t get to work, but I’m still a noob at Linux, so I’ll probably get them sometime. And of course there’s the whole thing about not being able to run Windows programs in Linux… that’s pretty annoying too.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , , .

Welcome to the jungle… the Silicon Jungle Why use Linux?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Twitter updates

visitors! woot!

Wakoopa badge

Software tracking

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

