Amarok 2 in Ubuntu and a funny guy

March 29, 2009 at 9:16 pm 2 comments

I installed Amarok a few days after installing Linux Mint because Rhythmbox wasn’t working with my mp3 player. It took a little getting used to, but now I like it way better than Rhythmbox. It’s ALMOST as good as MediaMonkey, the player I used in Windows, which is saying a lot. Amarok runs pretty well in Gnome, aside from infrequent crashing.
Anyways, today I found out that the newest release is Amarok 2, and I have release 1.4. After a few google searches I found this very good tutorial on installing Amarok 2 in Ubuntu. (Linux Mint is based on Ubuntu, so almost all of its internal workings are the same.)
So now I’ve installed it, and it looks really nice, but there sound isn’t working. One more thing to fix…
I found this guy a few days back. Pretty funny stuff.

edit: I rebooted and Amarok still shows an error message about the normal sound device not working, but now the sound works. šŸ™‚ I guess I’ll still try to get the regular sound device working.

edit2: Weird, now it’s not showing an error message anymore. And I didn’t even change any settings or anything. I guess that means I don’t need to fix it.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: .

Why use Linux? So many music players

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. drummerdoido  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I don’t get that guy you linked to. does Linux really use all the Windows drivers and stuff? and I couldn’t tell if he was being sarcastic about Vista being awesome or not…

    Reply
  • 2. fipi  |  April 9, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    WOOT A COMMENT!! I’m not completely sure whether or not that guy was being serious or just joking, but his later posts are a little too weird to be serious, even for a weird person. Either that or it was actually another person writing his later posts under his name, just as a joke. An example: “You see, the Unix was designed to run within the VHF to UHF spectra (much like a radio), which is all well and good until you consider that modern computers run in the microwave range, at which regular radio reception starts to have serious issues.” Computers don’t have anything to do with radios… and I can’t imagine how a person would come to believe the above. But if he is being serious it’s even funnier. šŸ˜€ Thanks for the comment dood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Twitter updates

visitors! woot!

Wakoopa badge

Software tracking

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

